Sunday, February 14, 2016

Taking an Inventory

From a 45 year old article on Going Through the Steps is a listing of 20 character defects we should ask ourselves about as we take our inventory.
In Step 4 as we take a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves, we must find out what we've got, what we need to get rid of, and what we need to acquire. The "fearless" is not about how we feel, but about what we write, thoroughly, rigorously honest. There are 20 character defects to ask about -- the individual wrongs we have done are not necessary to go over, just the defects that caused them. The inventory is of our defects, not our incidents.
Going over the listing, we ask ourself have we honestly admitted our defects to ourself as we write out on paper how they have manifested in our lives and created the unmanageability we have known.
Here are the defects:
  1. Resentment, Anger

  2. Fear, Cowardice

  3. Self pity

  4. Self justification

  5. Self importance, Egotism

  6. Self condemnation, Guilt

  7. Lying, Evasiveness, Dishonesty

  8. Impatience

  9. Hate

  10. False pride, Phoniness, Denial

  11. Jealousy

  12. Envy

  13. Laziness

  14. Procrastination

  15. Insincerity

  16. Negative Thinking

  17. Immoral thinking

  18. Perfectionism, Intolerance

  19. Criticizing, Loose Talk, Gossip

  20. Greed
Having admitted these defects to ourselves, having thoroughly inventoried them and written out how they have manifested and controlled our actions and reactions in life, we have completed Step 4.